Community Development Corporations (CDC's)


The principal and unique assets of this region are water related recreational activities such as fishing, sailing, boating and swimming, while the area is also rich in history relating to the fur trade and aboriginal settlement.

De Salaberry

The Rural Municipality of De Salaberry is located in the southeastern part of Manitoba, 50 kilometres south of Winnipeg via Provincial Trunk Highway # 59. The communities of St. Pierre-Jolys, St. Malo, Otterburne, La Rochelle, Dufrost and Carey are located within the limits of the municipality.


The majority of the land in the municipality abounds in natural resources and offers a wide variety of possibilities in the areas of recreation, tourism, ecotourism as well as light industry.

La Broquerie

Since the arrival of the first settlers in 1877, the Rural Municipality of La Broquerie has fully capitalized on its strengths: a diversified agricultural sector as well as the forestry resources of the southeastern region of Manitoba.


The Town of Lorette has been in existence since circa 1860. This establishes the district as one of the oldest localities in the Province of Manitoba. 


There are three Francophone towns located within the municipality limits: St. Jean-Baptiste, Letellier and St. Joseph, which were all founded in the latter half of the 19th century.


Somerset is a friendly, rural community of approximately 450 people that offers a prosperous business environment, a variety of clubs and service organizations and a very active group of citizens.


Notre-Dame-de-Lourdes is a Franco-Manitoban community with a population of approximately 600 residents, located about 130 kilometres southwest of Winnipeg.

Powerview / Pine Falls

The early communities of Powerview – Pine Falls began to flourish at the beginning of the 20th century, when they started to harness the potential of both the forestry and hydroelectric industries.

Riel District

The areas of St. Boniface, St. Vital and St. Norbert are the predominant Francophone communities in the city of Winnipeg.


There are several communities within the boundaries of the R.M. of Ritchot: the towns of St. Adolphe, Ste. Agathe and Île-des-Chênes are three of the more prominent communities and there are also Grande Pointe and Glenlea.

Ste. Anne

From healthcare to education and leisure to economic development, the city offers the serenity of country living with something for everyone.

St. Claude

The town is nestled in the agricultural heartland of Manitoba in the Rural Municipality of Grey, a region that includes grain crops, cattle raising, pork production and dairy farms. 

St. Laurent

The area boasts numerous sandy beaches and other tourist attractions and as such is a popular destination widely known for its cottage country. 

St. Lazare

Nestled in the bottom of the valley between the flood plain and valley hillsides of the Assiniboine river, the geographic setting of St. Lazare accounts for its outstanding natural beauty.

St. Leon

The Town of St. Léon is located near Somerset in the Rural Municipality of Lorne. The municipality is located in the gently rolling hills and fertile lands of southwestern Manitoba.

St.Pierre Jolys

The town’s history predates the province’s entry into the Canadian Confederation in 1870, with the arrival of French-Canadian settlers from Quebec as well as the northeastern United States. 

Vision Plans

The Vision Plans are community planning projects that have been spearheaded by the CDEM as economic development tools that enable the bilingual municipalities to articulate their vision of the future. read more